Last Explorer

In the tradition of The Ice Master and Endurance, here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery.

Last Explorer

More Books:

Making of an Explorer
Language: en
Pages: 418
Authors: Stuart Edward Jenness
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

The Making of an Explorer reveals how George Hubert Wilkins' experiences with the Canadian Arctic Expedition of 1913-16 helped a little-known Australian photographer develop into the world-famous polar explorer Sir Hubert Wilkins. Making extensive use of Wilkins' Arctic diary and other sources, both archival and published, Stuart Jenness provides new
Sir Hubert Wilkins: His World of Adventure
Language: en
Pages: 296
Authors: Lowell Thomas
Categories: Adventure and adventurers
Type: BOOK - Published: 1961 - Publisher: New York : McGraw-Hill

Biography of the late Australian explorer, writer, and naturalist, as told to the author.
The Last Explorer
Language: en
Pages: 346
Authors: Simon Nasht
Categories: Arctic regions
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher:

Hubert Wilkins was truly the last - and one of the greatest - explorers. And much more than that. Born in South Australia, he spent much of his life outside the country - but always remained an Australian. He travelled through every continent and was a pioneer of aviation. He
Last Explorer
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Simon Nasht
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-11-11 - Publisher: Skyhorse

In the tradition of The Ice Master and Endurance, here is the incredible story of the first truly modern explorer, whose death-defying adventures and uncommon modesty make this book itself an extraordinary discovery. Hubert Wilkins was the most successful explorer in history—no one saw with his own eyes more undiscovered
Incredible Life of Hubert Wilkins
Language: en
Pages: 544
Authors: Peter FitzSimons
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-27 - Publisher:

The extraordinary, must-read story of the brave, bold Hubert Wilkins - Australia's most adventurous explorer, naturalist, photographer, war hero, aviator, spy and daredevil - brought to life by Australia's greatest storyteller. Sir Hubert Wilkins is one of the most remarkable Australians who ever lived. The son of pioneer pastoralists in